40′s movies marathon – part 134 (of 134!)

The Quiet Duel (1949, Kurosawa) - Toshirô Mifune

The Quiet Duel (1949, Japan, Kurosawa)

Again Kurosawa uses disease as a theme.  This time it’s syphilis, which the men carry home from the war, and are unable to cure.  And the women suffer their own permanent consequences from wartime accidents.  There’s no easy return to normalcy.  Something good that once existed is irrevocably lost.   But it’s still up to everyone how to deal with this loss: As honorable or dishonorable people.  Watched it all.

Intruder in the Dust (1949, USA, Brown)

Hollywood continues to discover racial discrimination.  Once again the main characters are all white, because, come on, you have to draw the line somewhere.  Watched: 10 minutes.  Btw, I think Rich Hall mentioned this movie in his excellent BBC documentary The Dirty South, which you should go and watch now.

.. and, dear god, that was it for the 1940’s. I can’t believe I actually did it.  As far as I know I’m the first person ever to do this – at least on this scale, and in this particular way, with several thousand movies unfiltered by critics, watching everything until I get bored, and writing about it afterwards.  And this really is a fantastic way to watch movies.  I don’t think I can go back to the old way now.  In fact, I think I’ll continue right on to ..

2 Responses to 40′s movies marathon – part 134 (of 134!)

  1. Tormod says:

    Good job!

    I have enjoyed your reviews, and plan on revisiting them when I’m looking for interesting movies.

Leave a Reply

